NMMS Scholarship 2024: check details, updates, last dates, eligibility, documents and apply online

The National Means Cum Merit Scholarship (NMMS) 2024 is a vital initiative by the Central Government, offering financial aid to students aiming to advance their education and build careers.

This scholarship targets economically backward sections, with approximately 1 lakh scholarships granted annually, each providing Rs. 12,000 per annum. Administered by the Department of School Education & Literacy under the Ministry of Human Resource Development, NMMS is a beacon of hope for many.

NMMS Scholarship 2024

Name: NMMS Scholarship 2024
Launched by: Department of School Education & Literacy under the Ministry of Human Resource Development
Beneficiaries: Students belonging to Class 9th
Objective: Providing financial assistance
Financial Assistance: Rs. 12,000 per annum
Official Site: NMMS

Application Deadline Extended

The NMMS Scholarship’s application deadline has been extended until January 31, 2024. Interested students should seize this opportunity to register via the National Scholarship portal and secure financial support for their education. The disbursement of Rs. 12,000 per annum directly into the bank accounts of beneficiaries is facilitated through the Public Financial Management System.

  1. Start Date: October 1, 2023
  2. Official Website: NMMS Scholarship
  3. Last Date: January 31, 2024
  4. Contact for Issues: helpdesk@nsp.gov.in, 01206619540

Objective of NMMS Scholarship

The primary aim of NMMS Scholarship is to motivate students facing financial constraints to pursue quality education. By offering financial assistance, the scholarship strives to enhance students’ dedication to academics and reduce dependence on their families for tuition fees. This initiative specifically targets students at the secondary and higher secondary levels, fostering a conducive environment for education beyond Class 8.

State Wise NMMS Scholarship List

The NMMS Scholarship caters to students across various states and union territories. From Assam to West Bengal, this scholarship extends its reach, ensuring inclusivity and accessibility. Here is a list of states covered by NMMS:

  • Assam
  • Chhattisgarh
  • Rajasthan
  • Himachal Pradesh
  • Jammu and Kashmir
  • Meghalaya
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Odisha
  • Nagaland
  • Uttar Pradesh
  • And more…

Incentives of NMMS Scholarship

The NMMS Scholarship offers a range of incentives to empower beneficiaries:

  • Monthly financial assistance
  • Approximately 1 lakh scholarships annually
  • Rs. 1,000 per month for beneficiaries
  • Lump sum payment by the State Bank of India
  • Direct transfer through the Public Financial Management System
  • Rs. 12,000 per annum for Class 9 students
  • Renewable annually until completion of Class 12

Eligibility Criteria

To qualify for NMMS Scholarship, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Currently studying in Class 9th
  • Clear promotion from Class 8
  • Scored 55% or more in the last Class 8 examination
  • Pursuing education in a government or government-aided school
  • Annual family income not exceeding Rs. 1.5 lakhs
  • Renewal requires a minimum of 60% marks in Class 10 board exam

Selection Criteria for NMMS Scholarship

Candidates undergo a rigorous selection process:

  1. Mental ability test assessing reasoning and critical thinking
  2. Scholastic aptitude test covering science, social studies, and mathematics
  3. Minimum 40% marks in each test (32% for socially backward category)
  4. Minimum 55% marks in the final Class 8 examination
  5. SC/ST category students enjoy a 5% relaxation

 NMMS Scholarship 2024 online Application Procedure

Applying for NMMS Scholarship is a straightforward process:

  1. Visit the NMMS Website
  2. Register by providing necessary details
  3. Submit required documents, including educational certificates and bank details
  4. Complete the application process and await confirmation
  5. Check the application status through the National Scholarship Portal

Results Declaration and Renewal Process

The results of the NMMS Scholarship can be checked on the official website. For renewal, applicants must:

  1. Visit the National Scholarship Portal
  2. Apply for renewal with necessary documents
  3. Update mobile numbers if required
  4. Check application status regularly
  5. Follow the step-by-step renewal process outlined on the portal

NMMS Scholarship Helpline

For technical assistance, candidates can contact the NMMS Scholarship Help Desk:

In conclusion, the NMMS Scholarship 2024 stands as a beacon for students aspiring to overcome financial barriers and pursue quality education. This initiative by the Central Government reflects its commitment to fostering an inclusive and thriving educational landscape.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Press ESC to close